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MEMORANDUM 

TO:   Kaj Samsom, Commissioner, Vermont Department of Taxes; Chair, 
Taxation and Regulation Subcommittee to Governor’s Marijuana Advisory 
Commission 

FROM:   Abby Shepard, Tax Policy Analyst, Vermont Department of Taxes 

DATE:   Friday, October 20, 2017 

RE:   Questions from First Subcommittee Meeting on Sept. 28, 2017 
 

 This memo answers several questions that were asked during the first Marijuana Taxation and 
Regulation Subcommittee meeting held on September 28, 2017.  Those questions were: 

1. Where may Vermont dispensaries obtain their medical marijuana? ................................................. 1 

2. What fees are imposed on medical marijuana in Vermont?.............................................................. 1 

3. What fees are imposed on medical and recreational marijuana in other states? ............................... 2 

4. Comparison of recreational marijuana tax base in other states ......................................................... 7 

5. Comparison of Vermont’s liquor and tobacco taxes ......................................................................... 8 

6. Legislative economist on importance of ski industry tourism to Vermont economy ....................... 9 

 

1. Where may Vermont dispensaries obtain their medical marijuana? 

Dispensaries may obtain the cannabis that they sell to registered patients and caregivers from 
multiple sources, including their own cultivation. 18 V.S.A. § 4472(5).  They may only “acquire, 
purchase, or borrow marijuana, marijuana-infused products, or services from another registered Vermont 
dispensary or give, sell, or lend marijuana, marijuana-infused products, or services to another registered 
Vermont dispensary.” 18 V.S.A. §§ 4474b 4474e(a)(2)(B).  Dispensaries must record the product, 
amount, and recipient of any transfers; must stay below the legal cultivation possession limits determined 
by the number of patients designating that dispensary; and may not transfer eligibility to another 
dispensary. Id.  This is consistent with the federal law constraints on the interstate flow of cannabis as a 
controlled Schedule I substance. 

 

2. What fees are imposed on medical marijuana in Vermont? 

Administration:  All fees are paid to the Department of Public Safety.  All fees are deposited into a 
fund used for administering the Vermont Marijuana Registry. 18 V.S.A. §§ 4474a, 4474k. 
 

Type & Payee Amount Purpose 

Registered patient / 
caregiver 

registration 
$50 

1. Application fee for a registry ID card paid at time of 
application and annually thereafter. 

2. Annual renewal fee and application required. 18 V.S.A. §§ 
4474a. 
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Type & Payee Amount Purpose 

Patient designation 
of, and change in 

dispensary 
$25 

Registered patient must submit form and fee to change designated 
dispensary.  Patients not allowed to change designated dispensary 
more than once in any 30-day period. 18 V.S.A. § 4474h(a). 

Dispensary 
application for 

registration 
certificate 

$2,500 Fee for application to operate as registered dispensary. 18 V.S.A. § 
4474f(c). 

Dispensary 
registration 

Initial: 
$20,000 

Renewal: 
$25,000 

After dispensary is approved, but before it begins operations, it 
must submit registration fee: 
1. Initial registration fee: $20,000; and  
2. Annual registration renewal fee: $25,000. 18 V.S.A. § 

4474f(g)(4). 

Dispensary registry 
identification card; 

criminal background 
checks 

$50 
1. Initial fee for registry ID cards for all dispensary owners, 

principals, financiers, and employees. 
2. Annual renewal fee required. 18 V.S.A. § 4474g. 

Laboratory testing Variable 

Dispensaries pay costs of any required laboratory testing.  AAFM’s 
central testing laboratory fees may apply if lab is made responsible 
for testing cannabis. 6 V.S.A. ch. 5.  Act 65 of 2017, Sec. 10 
requires a report by Oct. 15, 2017 by AAFM and DPS to Vermont 
Legislature, on testing marijuana-infused products, estimated costs, 
and recommendations for funding (such as fees). 

 
 

3. What fees are imposed on medical and recreational marijuana in other states? 

This answer does not include every one of the 27 states and Washington D.C. that allow medical 
marijuana, but rather focuses on all eight states with recreational marijuana, which all allow medical 
marijuana, and a handful of other states that only allow medical marijuana. 

The fees charged depend on the types of licenses, certificates, or registration cards required for 
different products, services, or roles provided.  These fees depend on the structural choices about how to 
regulate the cultivation of the plant, its processing, handling, transportation, testing, and its sale.  Most 
states give different government bodies regulatory authority over medical marijuana (typically the 
department of health) than over recreational marijuana (a wide range from departments of tax and revenue 
to departments of liquor and cannabis control).  Even within the two broad categories of medical versus 
recreational marijuana, other government entities often regulate a particular step in the chain of 
cultivation and sale, such as the department of agriculture at the cultivation and testing stages, and the 
department of liquor control at the testing and enforcement stages.  Only California is moving toward 
fully combining all marijuana regulation (medical and recreational) into one regulatory body: the newly 
created Bureau of Cannabis Control. 
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State Fees on Medical Marijuana Fees on Recreational Marijuana 

Alaska 

7 AAC 34.080 
 
Registered patient ID card: $25 initial; 
$20 renewal.  
 
No “dispensaries” in Alaska.  Only 
license for sale of marijuana are for 
“retail marijuana stores.”  See fees for 
recreational marijuana. 3 AAC 306.100. 

Schedule of licensing fees (also 
application & renewal fees). 3 AAC 
306.100. - New marijuana establishment 

license or transfer $1,000 - License renewal application $600 - Late renewal $1,000 - Change in name, premises, 
operating plan, or new product $250 - Retail store license $5,000 - Limited cultivation $1,000 - Cultivation facility $5,000 - Concentrate manufacturing facility 
$1,000 - Product manufacturing facility 
$5,000 - Testing facility $1,000 - Handler permit card $50 

Processing fees for late renewal after 
failure to pay taxes: $200-$10,000 
 

Arizona 

$150 ($75 for SNAP participants) for 
qualifying patient initial or renewal 
registry ID card.  
 
$200 for designated caregiver initial or a 
renewal registry ID card.  Every new 
patient (up to 5) requires a new card. 
 
$500 for dispensary agent initial or 
renewal registry ID card. 
 
$5,000 for initial dispensary registration 
certificate. 
 
$1,000 for renewal dispensary 
registration certificate. 
 
$2,500 to change location of dispensary 
or cultivation facility. 
 
$10 to amend, change, or replace a 
registry ID card. A.A.C. R9-17-102.  
 
Background check fingerprinting fees 
apply. A.R.S. §36-2819. 
 

No recreational marijauna 

Arkansas 
Patient & Caregiver medical marijuana 
card initial and annual renewal fee $50. 
Ark. Admin. Code 007.16.4-IV.  

No recreational marijauna 
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State Fees on Medical Marijuana Fees on Recreational Marijuana 
 
Caregiver criminal background check 
fees. Id. 
 
Cultivation license application fee 
$15,000 ($7,500 refunded if application 
refused). Arkansas Medical Marijuana 
Commission Rules, Sec. IV.7.  
 
Cultivation facility license initial and 
annual renewal fee $100,000.  Requires 
bonding/surety. Arkansas Medical 
Marijuana Commission Rules, Sec. IV.7. 
 

California 

Bureau of Cannabis Control will release 
draft regulations on medicinal and adult-
use cannabis, including licensing, in 
November 2017. Medicinal and Adult-
Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act. 
 

Bureau of Cannabis Control will release 
draft regulations on medicinal and adult-
use cannabis, including licensing, in 
November 2017. Medicinal and Adult-
Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act. 

Colorado 

Local fees only. C.R.S. §§ 12-43.3-301, 
12-43.3-301. 
 
Application fee $500. C.R.S. § 12-43.3-. 
 
Late renewal fee $500 if less than 90 
days past expiration. C.R.S. § 12-43.3-
311. 
 

Both state and local fees. C.R.S. §§ 12-
43.4-501; 12-43.3-301. 
 
Application fee: $5,000. C.R.S. § 12-
43.4-501.  
 
Annual renewal fees and late fees. C.R.S. 
§ 12-43.4-310. 

Maine 

No fees for registered patients. 
 
Caregiver fees - Application and annual renewal fee 

for primary caregiver who cultivates 
for patients $300 per qualifying 
patient.  Pro-rated for new patients.  
If caregiver does not cultivate, then 
no fee is charged. - Alternative caregiver fee $1,500 
allowing unlimited changes to 
patient list. - Caregiver background check fee 
$31. - processing fee for changes or 
replacements to ID cards $10 

 
Registered dispensary fees - Certificate of registration 

application fee $15,000 

Draft legislation, Marijuana Legalization 
Act, Sec. A-3, 28-B MRSA §207.  
Cultivation facility license 
Tier I $100 application fee - Other fees depending on cultivation 

designation: per-plant or flat fees 
for canopy-base cultivation 

Tier II $500 application fee and not more 
than: - $1,500 outdoor cultivation facility, 

or - $3,000 for indoor or both indoor 
and outdoor cultivation facility 

Tier III $500 - $5,000 outdoor cultivation facility, 
or - $10,000 for indoor or both indoor 
and outdoor cultivation facility 

Tier IV $500 - $15,000 outdoor cultivation facility, 
or 
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State Fees on Medical Marijuana Fees on Recreational Marijuana - for each principal officer, board 
member, and employee 

o $25 initial and annual 
renewal fee for each 
registry ID card 

o $31 background check fee - Change of physical or grow location 
fee $5,000 - processing fee for changes or 
replacements to ID cards $10 - Laboratory testing 

10-144 CMR Ch. 122, § 7 

- $30,000 for indoor or both indoor 
and outdoor cultivation facility;  - Except any increase in plant canopy 
capacity = extra fees 

 
Products manufacturing facilities, 
marijuana stores and marijuana social 
clubs license: - application fee $250 - license fee up to $2,500 
Testing facilities - license application fee $250  - license fee up to $1,000. 
 
Late application fees to be established. 
28-B MRSA §209(5). 
 
Criminal background check fees. 28-B 
MRSA §204. 
 
Municipal regulation & licensing 
required. 28-B MRSA subch. 4. 
 

Massachusetts 

Patients. 105 CMR 725.015, 725.035. - Registration $50, annually (waiver 
for financial hardship) - ID card replacement $10 - Hardship cultivation $100 

 
Registered Marijuana Dispensaries. 105 
CMR 725.030, 725.100. - Dispensary agent annual 

registration fee $500 (includes all 
board members, directors, 
employees, executives, managers, 
and volunteers) - Phase 1 application $1,500 - Phase 2 application $30,000 - Registration $50,000, annually - Location change $10,000 - Name change $100 - Architectural review $8.25 per 
$1,000 of construction costs, with a 
minimum fee of $1,500 

 

Cannabis Control Commission to 
determine application, license and 
renewal fees by regulation.  H.3818, Sec. 
26, to be codified at M.G.L. ch.94G §4. 
 
Background check fees apply.  

Nevada 

No new applications currently accepted.  
Max fees set in statute. N.R.S. 453A.344. 
Dispensary registration certificate  - Initial application $30,000 - Renewal $5,000 

$5,000 application fee. N.R.S. 
453D.230(1). 
 
Nevada law sets out max fees.  N.R.S. 
453D.230(1).  The NV Tax Dept. has 
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State Fees on Medical Marijuana Fees on Recreational Marijuana 
 
Cultivation facility registration certificate  - Initial application $3,000 - Renewal $1,000 
 
Facility producing edible marijuana 
products or marijuana-infused products 
registration certificate - Initial application $3,000 - Renewal $1,000 
 
Testing laboratory registration certificate  - Initial application $5,000 - Renewal $3,000 
 

Medical marijuana establishment agent 
registration card application and renewal 
$75/person 
 
Additional fees: - one-time application fee $5,000 - actual application processing, 

including background checks. 

proposed draft regulations that are under 
legislative review.  The most recent 
version sets the fees as follows. Sec. 73 
 
License fee: - Retail Store $20,000  - Cultivation $30,000  - Production $10,000 - Testing Lab $15,000  - Distribution $15,000  
 
Renewal fee - Dispensary $5,000 - Cultivation $1,000 - Production $1,000 - Laboratory $3,000 
 
Criminal history record check fees 
 
Marijuana Agent Card Application fee 
$75.  
 
Medical marijuana establishments may 
apply for recreational marijuana licenses. 
 

Oregon 

Patient application fee $200, except: - $60 for SNAP participants - $50 for OR Health plan benefits - $20 SSI - $20 US Armed Forces service. 
Replacement card fee $100 (or $20 if 
reduced application fee applies). OAR 
333-008-0021. 
 
$200 grow site registration fee under 
certain conditions.  No grow site 
registration fee for patients growing for 
themselves at their own residence. OAR 
333-008-0021. 
 
Dispensary initial and annual renewal 
fees: - $500 application - $3,500 registration. OAR 333-008-

1030. 
 
Processing site initial and annual renewal 
fees: - $500 application - $3,500 registration.  

$250 non-refundable application fee. 
 
Annual license fees (prorated if initial 
license is issued for six months or less): - Producers: 

o Micro Tier I $1,000. 
o Micro Tier II $2,000. 
o Tier I $3,750. 
o Tier II $5,750. - Processors: $4,750. - Wholesalers: $4,750. 
o Micro Wholesalers: $1,000. - Retailers: $4,750. - Laboratories: $4,750. 
o Sampling Laboratory: 

$2,250. - 3-year research certificate fee 
$4,750 

 
License or certificate renewal application 
fee $250 
 
Marijuana worker permit fee $100  
 
Other fees 
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State Fees on Medical Marijuana Fees on Recreational Marijuana 
Criminal background check fee $35. 
OAR 333-008-1630. 

- Criminal background checks: $50 - Transfer of location of premises 
review: $1,000 per license. - Packaging preapproval: $100. - Labeling preapproval: $100. - Change to previously approved 
package or label: $25. 

OAR 845-025-1060 (eff. 08/01/2017 
expires 12/27/2017). 
 

Washington 

Medical cannabis. RCW ch. 69.51A. 
$1 fee for each initial, replacement, and 
renewal recognition card for patients or 
designated provider 
 
Medical marijuana consultant certificate 
fees - Application for certificate $95 - Renewal of certificate $90 - Late renewal penalty $50 - Expired certificate reissuance $50 - Duplicate certificate $10 - Verification of credential $15 
WAC 246-72-010. 
 
Before being authorized to sell medical 
marijuana, an applicant must already 
hold a recreational marijuana retailer 
license, and apply for a medical 
marijuana endorsement. WAC 314-55-
080. 
 

Recreational marijuana. RCW ch. 69.50. 
The following licenses require payment 
of 2 fees: 
1. application fee $250, and 
2. annual fee for license issuance and 

renewal $1,000-$1,480 
Marijuana producer. WAC 314-55-075. 
Marijuana retailer. WAC 314-55-079. 
Marijuana processor license. WAC 314-
55-077. 
Transportation license. WAC 314-55-
310. 
Marijuana research license. RCWA 
69.50.372(h)(7). 
 
Criminal history check fees apply to all 
license applicants. 
 
Ownership changes $75. WAC 314-55-
120. 

 
 
4. Comparison of recreational marijuana tax base in other states 

The states that impose an ad valorem tax on the sales price of recreational marijuana use slightly 
different terms to define the tax base on marijuana/cannabis or marijuana/cannabis products.  Every state 
includes edibles, concentrates, ointments, and tinctures in the tax base.  Maine’s draft law calls it “adult 
use marijuana and adult use marijuana products;” and Colorado calls it “retail marijuana.”  Oregon 
imposes its tax on the retail sale of “marijuana items,” then explicitly lists the items: marijuana leaves and 
flowers, immature marijuana plants, cannabinoid edibles, concentrates, and products “intended to be used 
by applying the cannabinoid product to the skin or hair” and any other cannabinoid products. O.R.S. § 
475B.705.  Washington imposes its tax on “marijuana concentrates, useable marijuana, and marijuana-
infused products,” which are also all explicitly defined in statute. 

The states like Alaska and California that impose weight-based taxes on marijuana distinguish 
between the tax on the buds and flowers (a higher tax) and the tax on the remainder of the plant, such as 
the leaves and stem.  Alaska defines “bud and flower” as “the hairy, sticky, or crystal-covered parts of 
mature female marijuana plants generally harvested for their high potency content.”15 AAC 61.990(1). 
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5. Comparison of Vermont’s liquor and tobacco taxes 

 Excise Tax Rate State Sales Tax Local Sales 
Tax 

Spirits & Fortified 
Wines (Liquor) 

25% of gross receipts if over $750,000.  
 
7 V.S.A. § 422. 

6% sales tax. 
 

32 V.S.A. §§ 
9701(23), 
9741(10). 

1% local 
option tax. 

 
24 V.S.A. § 

138. 

Cigarettes, little 
cigars, and roll-your-
own tobacco 

Stamp Tax at 154 mills ($0.154): 
1. per cigarette or little cigar ($3.08 per 

pack of 20 cigarettes); and  
2. for each 0.0325 ounces of roll-your-

own tobacco. ($4.74 per ounce) 
 

32 V.S.A. § 7771(d). 
 

6% sales tax. 
 

32 V.S.A. §§ 
9701(31), 

9771(1); Vt. 
Reg., § 

1.9701(7) 
-1. 

1% local 
option tax. 

 
24 V.S.A. § 

138. 

Other tobacco 
products, snuff, and 
new smokeless 
tobacco 

Tobacco products tax imposed at 
wholesale. 
 
Snuff 
$2.57 per ounce 
 
New smokeless tobacco 
1. Greater of $2.57 per ounce, or 
2. $3.08 per package, if sold in a package 

with less than 1.2 ounces. 
 
Cigars  
1. 92% of wholesale if $2.17 or less. 
2. $2.00 per cigar if wholesale price is 

between $2.18 and $9.99. 
3. $4.00 per cigar if wholesale price is 

$10.00 or more.  
 
Other Tobacco Products 
92% of wholesale price 
 
Timely Payment Discount 
If tax is paid within 10 days, distributor or 
dealer may deduct 2% from tax due. 
 
32 V.S.A. § 7811 
 

6% sales tax. 
 

32 V.S.A. §§ 
9701(31), 

9771(1); Vt. 
Reg., § 

1.9701(7) 
-1. 

1% local 
option tax. 

 
24 V.S.A. § 

138. 

http://tax.vermont.gov/sites/tax/files/documents/Tobacco%20Rate%20Tables%20FS_2015.pdf 
http://tax.vermont.gov/business-and-corp/miscellaneous-taxes/cigarette-and-tobacco-tax/rates 
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6. Legislative economist on importance of ski industry tourism to Vermont economy 

Tom Kavet, “The Cross-Border Issue: An Ongoing Analysis Affecting Multiple Taxes” (Jan. 20, 2017) p. 
10, available at: 
http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/WorkGroups/House%20Ways%20and%20Means/
Tax%20Study/W~Tom%20Kavet~The%20Cross-Border%20Issue~1-20-2017.pdf 

“Underscoring the importance of winter tourism, at a town level, the highest per capita retail sales 
(on a Vermont taxable sales basis) are in towns hosting or near large ski resorts […].  […] Among the top 
per capita retailing areas in the State are the large retailing centers in Williston (especially), Rutland 
Town, Berlin/Montpelier/Barre, South Burlington, Rutland Town and City and St. Albans Town and City.  
However, on a per capita basis, 11 of the top 25 retailing towns are associated with the ski resorts at Mt. 
Snow, Stratton, Bromley, Killington, Okemo, Sugarbush, Mad River Glen, Stowe and Jay Peak.  State 
tourism research has shown that winter tourists tend to spend more than other seasonal tourists and it is 
validated in these data.” 
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http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/WorkGroups/House%20Ways%20and%20Means/
Tax%20Study/W~Tom%20Kavet~The%20Cross-Border%20Issue~1-20-2017.pdf 
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http://legislature.vermont.gov/assets/Documents/2018/WorkGroups/House%20Ways%20and%20Means/
Tax%20Study/W~Tom%20Kavet~The%20Cross-Border%20Issue~1-20-2017.pdf 


